Napoleon: A Cinematic Triumph or a Flop?

Nicole Venglovicova
3 min readNov 23, 2023

I recently took a leap and watched a film without previewing its trailer for the first time ever. Why? Well, spotting Ridley Scott and Joaquin Phoenix on the bill, I was pretty convinced it’d be a hit. Was I spot on? I aimed to keep my expectations in check, not wanting a repeat of the letdown I felt with ‘Oppenheimer.’

Right off the bat, the film gave off strong ‘Gladiator’ vibes, especially with Joaquin Phoenix gracing the screen. The opening scene was a brutal, raw introduction, so much so that I stopped munching my popcorn — and trust me, I was starving.

The sound design in the battle scenes was so immersive, I felt like I was right there in the thick of it. Joaquin Phoenix, as always, nailed his performance effortlessly.

What really caught me off guard was Napoleon’s portrayal. He was depicted not as a grandiose figure, but as a subtle, heartbroken man, driven to battle by his unrequited…

--

--

Nicole Venglovicova

Content creator, currently writing my first travel book :)